EFFICIENT AND EFFECTIVE SCHOOL DISTRICT GOVERNANCE TASK FORCE

Minutes of the 4th Meeting of the 2024 Interim

August 27, 2024

Call to Order and Roll Call

The fourth meeting of the Efficient and Effective School District Governance Task Force was held on August 27, 2024, at 5:30 PM in Central High School. Representative Kim Banta, Chair, called the meeting to order, and the secretary called the roll.

Present were:

<u>Members:</u> Senator Michael J. Nemes Co-Chair; Representative Kim Banta Co-Chair; Senators Gerald A. Neal, and Lindsey Tichenor; Representatives James Tipton, and Tina Bojanowski; Allison Ball, Britany Abdelahad, Phillip Baker, Angela Masden, George Nichols, Jody Wurtenberger.

Guests: Saliyah Beeler, Senior Class President, Central High School; Louisa Sarpee, Sophomore Class President, Central High School; Ellen Niehoff, teacher and parent; Latisha Cahoon, President, Alpha Kappa Alpha – Eta Omega Chapter; Ava Williams, Junior, Central High School; Dr. Michelle Patrick, Education Chair, NAACP – KY; Kumar Rashad, 2024 High School Teacher of the Year; Mandell Clark, Kentuckians for the Commonwealth; Lamont Collins, citizen; Lyndon Pryor, CEO, Louisville Urban League; Terrance Sullivan, Vice Chair, Advisory Council on Race and Equity, Jefferson County Public Schools (JCPS); Gary Spotts, Alpha Phi Alpha – Alpha Lambda Chapter; Chris Brady, citizen; Ellis Tarver, teacher; Jennifer Lockhart, citizen; Ryan Davis, teacher; Manuel Garr, parent; Andrea Houston, citizen; Dr. F. Bruce Williams, Pastor, Bates Memorial Church; Chris Harmen, Alliance to Reclaim Our Schools; Melissa Nelson, parent; Amina Shale, parent; Lisa Wilson, citizen; Debra O'Bannon, citizen; Judy Lippmann, community volunteer; Tyra Thomas-Walker, community organizer; Autumn Neagle, parent; Braylee Breed, 8th Grader, JCPS; Representative Josie Raymond; and Senator Karen Berg.

LRC Staff: Joshua Collins, Lauren Busch, and Maurya Allen.

Approval of Minutes - August 19, 2024

Senator Nemes made a motion, seconded by Senator Tichenor to approve the minutes of the August 19, 2024 meeting. The motion passed by voice vote.

Public Comment

The following individuals spoke before the task force: Saliyah Beeler, Senior Class President, Central High School; Louisa Sarpee, Sophomore Class President, Central High School; Ellen Niehoff, teacher and parent; Latisha Cahoon, President, Alpha Kappa Alpha – Eta Omega Chapter; Ava Williams, Junior, Central High School; Dr. Michelle Patrick, Education Chair, NAACP – KY; Kumar Rashad, 2024 High School Teacher of the Year; Mandell Clark, Kentuckians for the Commonwealth; Lamont Collins, citizen; Lyndon Pryor, CEO, Louisville Urban League; Terrance Sullivan, Vice Chair, Advisory Council on Race and Equity, JCPS; Gary Spotts, Alpha Phi Alpha – Alpha Lambda Chapter; Chris Brady, citizen; Ellis Tarver, teacher; Jennifer Lockhart, citizen; Ryan Davis, teacher; Manuel Garr, parent; Andrea Houston, citizen; Dr. F. Bruce Williams, Pastor, Bates Memorial Church; Chris Harmen, Alliance to Reclaim Our Schools; Melissa Nelson, parent; Amina Shale, parent; Lisa Wilson, citizen; Debra O'Bannon, citizen; Judy Lippmann, community volunteer; Tyra Thomas-Walker, community organizer; Autumn Neagle, parent; Braylee Breed, 8th Grader, JCPS.

They addressed a variety of issues concerning the state of the district and possible changes. Additionally, they discussed the need for additional funding, especially for transportation, teacher pay, new programs, and new buildings. Chair Banta stated the task force was not considering breaking up the district in response to public comments.

Announcements

Chair Banta recognized Senator Berg and Representative Raymond for their attendance in the audience. The next meeting of the task force will be Tuesday, September 10, 2024, at 5:30 p.m. at Louisville Male High School.

Adjournment

With no further business to come before the task force, the meeting adjourned at 6:55 p.m.